top of page

N.E.A.D, Myself and travel.

Hey it's me again, Louise back with another

N.E.A.D, Myself and ..... this time it's travel. Travel is something I love doing. I was diagnosed with N.E.A.D just over two years ago. I did small little travels to places like York with my best friend for the day but nothing like week long holidays a few hours drive or a flight away. However at the end of last year that all changed. I did my first holiday aboard and have also had a week away with my nan and a coach load of people I've never met before in SCOTLAND, visiting the beautiful country and also seeing the Edinburgh Military tattoos. On my first visit aboard I went to Benidorm with my mom, nan and grandad. I was sceptical about traveling at first as I had no idea if traveling would set off my seizures. What would happen while I was up in the air and what was the cost of insurance was going to be like? (probably expensive). As soon as my nan told me she was taking me and my mom away on holiday and was paying for it I was excited but also frightened. I'd never travelled a long distance or stayed away from home since the seizures started, never mind going on an aeroplane, for a week's holiday to a rather loud and hetic Benidorm. After we had booked the flights we had to look for insurance so we went straight to compare the market to compare different travel insurance. We entered all our normal details into the data base we then had to enter in our health details this is where I thought we would take ages and probably have a problem with finding NEAD on the data base. As I entered non ep into the box a suggestion came up and to my surprise non epileptic attack disorder was the top of the list. (what a shock that was) I finished the form and pressed the done button. As the next page was loading I was dreading the amount of money I may have to pay out, when I got another shock the prices where rather low and I only paid £1 more for my insurance than my mom had paid for hers, I couldn't believe it. I can tell you that totally surprised me but it was a nice surprise. Travelling to Benidorm was a breeze, I was nice and relaxed while going through sercurity, the wait was fine with no hassle. Boarding the plane was just as it always is, long but nothing to it. I think it was all better as I was travelling with my mom and not alone. I knew if anything did happen I would be safe and with someone who knew what to do if I did have a seizure. The plane ride to Benidorm was great, I didn't panic about it, I was relaxed calm and just enjoyed it. My holiday in Benidorm for a week was great. I caught up with some old friends from when I lived in Spain and I met up with my old high school friend who happened to be out in benidorm at the same time. I only had two seizures the whole holiday and that was due to being over tired and doing too much in the first three days of my holiday. I had a few times when I started feeling funny and like a seizure was coming on but I did my grounding technique which helps me with the seizures I feel coming on. It's not 100% effective at stopping them completely but it does put them off for a period of time, they still come on but at other times they stop them completely, it's a bit of a hit or miss situation really. All in all I class my trip to Benidorm as a success and a one up on my NEAD MYSELF AND......journey. Keep a look out for part two of NEAD MYSELF AND TRAVEL, where I'll talk about my trip to Scotland, my experience of joining 1000s of others watching the Edinburgh tattoos in the freezing cold and my holiday with my family at Primrose valley caravan park in Filey. Thanks for reading, catch you soon,

Louise x


bottom of page